Minutes of the EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BI-STATE REGIONAL COMMISSION

Wednesday, January 25, 2023, 3:15 p.m.
Bettendorf City Hall
1609 State Street
Second Floor
Bettendorf, Iowa 52761

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair – Gallagher, Breeden, Brunk, Dawson, Lawrence, Matson,

Maxwell, Rayapati, Sauer.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Bark

STAFF PRESENT: Bulat, Connors, Henderson

Chair Gallagher called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m.

1. <u>Approval of the Minutes of the January 26, 2022 Meeting</u>. Mr. Maxwell moved approval of the minutes of the January 26, 2022 meeting as written and mailed. Mr. Brunk seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2. Consideration of Nominating a Slate of Officers for the Commission for the 2023-2024

Term. Ms. Bulat explained that Article II of the Commission's By-Laws states that each year in the month of January the Executive Committee serves as the Nominating Committee to recommend a slate of officers for consideration by the full Commission. The term of office begins on March 1, is for one year, and officers may be elected to a second term. The By-Laws also specify that no more than two officers may be from the same state, no more than one from any jurisdiction, and they must be elected officials. It has also been the practice that the Chair changes back and forth between Iowa and Illinois every two years. Ms. Bulat stated all officers had completed their second term. Mayor Gallagher provided the suggested slate of officers. Ms. Bulat noted that due to the length of time it takes to update signature cards and the ability to have a signatory in the building Mr. Brunk had been contacted to request he move from Treasurer to Secretary. Mayor Matson nominated the following slate of officers for the 2023-2024 term:

Kippy Breeden, Chair, Henry County – Chair

Brett Bark, Muscatine County – Vice Chair Richard Brunk, Rock Island County – Secretary

John Maxwell, Scott County – Treasurer

Mayor Dawson seconded the nomination. Chair Gallagher asked if there were nominations from the floor, and there were none. The nominations were closed, and the Chair called for the vote. The slate, as listed above, was unanimously nominated for the 2023-2024 term.

Ms. Bulat noted the Executive Committee's nominated slate will be considered by the

BSRC Executive Committee Minutes January 26, 2022 Page 2

Commission at their January 25, 2023 meeting.

- 3. Other Business. Ms. Bulat alerted the Executive Committee that normally there is only one Executive Meeting per year, however this year there will be additional meetings as she will be reviewing and updating the Bi-State Regional Commission By-Laws and Articles of Agreement with assistance from member administrators.
- 4. <u>Adjournment</u>. Mr. Maxwell motioned to adjourn the meeting, and Ms. Breeden seconded the motion. It carried unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 3:23 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

P.S. Melt

Bob Gallagher

Chair