Minutes of the EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BI-STATE REGIONAL COMMISSION

Wednesday, January 26, 2022, 3:15 p.m.
Bettendorf City Hall
1609 State Street
Second Floor
Bettendorf, Iowa 52761

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair – Gallagher, Bark, Breeden, Brunk, Dawson, Lawrence,

Matson, Rayapati, Sauer.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Holmes, Maxwell

STAFF PRESENT: Bulat

Chair Gallagher called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m.

- 1. <u>Approval of the Minutes of the January 27, 2021 Meeting</u>. Mayor Matson moved approval of the minutes of the January 27, 2021 meeting as written and mailed. Mr. Lawrence seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.
- 2. Consideration of Nominating a Slate of Officers for the Commission for the 2021-2022 Term. Ms. Bulat explained that Article II of the Commission's By-Laws states that each year in the month of January the Executive Committee serves as the Nominating Committee to recommend a slate of officers for consideration by the full Commission. The term of office begins on March 1, is for one year, and officers may be elected to a second term. The By-Laws also specify that no more than two officers may be from the same state, no more than one from any jurisdiction, and they must be elected officials. It has also been the practice that the Chair changes back and forth between Iowa and Illinois every two years. Ms. Bulat stated all of the officers are eligible to serve a second term, and the Treasurer's office is vacant because Mayor Broderson was not reelected. The agenda packet contained a listing of current and previous Commission officers. Mayor Matson nominated the following slate of officers for the 2021-2022 term:

Bob Gallagher, Mayor, City of Bettendorf – Chair

Kippy Breeden, Chair, Henry County – Vice Chair Scott Sauer, Board Member, Muscatine County – Secretary Richard Quijas Brunk, Chair, Rock Island County – Treasurer

Mayor Dawson seconded the nomination. Chair Gallagher asked if there were nominations from the floor, and there were none. The nominations were closed, and the Chair called for the vote. The slate, as listed above, was unanimously nominated for the 2022-2023 term.

Ms. Bulat noted the Executive Committee's nominated slate will be considered by the Commission at their January 26, 2022 meeting.

BSRC Executive Committee Minutes January 26, 2022 Page 2

Ms. Bulat requested the Secretary position take office immediately rather than in March 1 because the position was vacant. Mr. Brunk so moved, and Mayor Matson seconded the motion. It carried unanimously.

- 3. Other Business. None
- 4. <u>Adjournment</u>. Mayor Dawson motioned to adjourn the meeting, and Mr. Lawrence seconded the motion. It carried unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 3:24 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

78. 19ll

Bob Gallagher

Chair